Thomas (Dad) Garrick, after a nautical career, became a pioneer of cinema in Queensland. His family company established the Lyric Theatre in West End in 1912 and in 1923 they built the Rialto in Hill End. Only the Rialto survives, repurposed as commercial premises.
Norfolk Road in South Brisbane has 6 heritage listed houses as well as a number of other 19th century dwellings. Each one has a story to tell.
When South Brisbane was surveyed for the first land sales in the 1840s, the streets were named after prominent British aristocratic politicians. At the northern was Montague Street that later became Montague Road. But who was it named after? Could it have been an error?
Since the early 1960s, the Torbreck apartment building on Highgate Hill has been a Brisbane landmark. The original Torbreck on the site was demolished in 1958 but another was built nearby by the same family in 1908.
The eccentric Nicholas Walpole Raven spent years trying to get a licence for the hotel he built on Montague Road. Eventually he used a loophole and established the West End Club which soon fell foul of the law.
The Princess Theatre is a survivor. It's gone through numerous cycles of popularity and obscurity and come close to destruction by fire and demolition but the show goes on.
The School of Arts in Boundary Street, West End, played an important role in the community for 80 years. Today it is all but forgotten. The Kurilpa Library, built as an extension to the School of Arts in 1928, carries on an over 130 year old tradition.
An imposing house from stone at the peak of Highgate Hill, built in 1893, was home to just 3 families over a large part of its life. As a rental property, it's been the home to many.
Davies Park has been a place of sport and leisure for 120 years. Well known for Rugby League football, its also seen patriotic carnivals, prize fights, speedway racing, square dancing and much more.
There's a quiet corner of Highgate Hill bordering South Brisbane where many surviving old houses boast spectacular views. One of these is the home "Dorra Tor" which has a fascinating history. Thomas Blacket Stephens Thomas Blacket Stephens arrived in Brisbane with his wife Anne nee Connah in around 1856. He established a fellmongery and tanning … Continue reading “Dorra Tor” – Plywood, Politics and Punters